Approved by the HWRSD School Committee on May 19, 2021



School Committee Executive Session Meeting Zoom Virtual Meeting Wednesday, December 16, 2020 6:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Present:

Michelle Bailey, Chairperson Michelle Horgan, Vice Chairperson Dana Allara, Secretary Anna Siedzik, Vice Secretary David Polito Peter Wolczik Julia Campbell

Also Present:

Mary Beth Banios, District Superintendent Vincent Leone, Assistant Superintendent to Finance and Administration Mahala Lettvin, Recording Secretary

EXECUTIVE SESSION FOR PURPOSE #3, TO DISCUSS STRATEGY WITH RESPECT TO COLLECTIVE BARGAINING OR LITIGATION

Executive Session: 6:02 PM - 6:47 PM

Discussion regarding remote teaching opportunities; district efforts; HWEA MOU; substitute teacher positions and challenges; district budget concerning substitutes and specific other items that may offer a solution.

Superintendent Banios will consult with district legal counsel, Naomi Stonberg. Further discussion regarding teaching staff's medical issues, including severity and the accommodations the district can offer.

I MOVE THAT THE HAMILTON-WENHAM REGIONAL SCHOOL COMMITTEE CHARGE SUPERINTENDENT MARY BETH BANIOS WITH THE TASK OF COMPOSING THE NECESSARY LANGUAGE TO REFLECT AN OFFER TO BRING A DISTRICT STAFF MEMBER INTO A NEWLY CREATED POSITION, IF DOING SO IS LEGALLY FEASIBLE, AS DETERMINED THROUGH CONSULTATION WITH DISTRICT'S LEGAL COUNSEL, NAOMI STONBERG.

MOTION by Peter Wolczik; SECONDED by Dana Allara.

Peter Wolczik	YES;
David Polito	YES;
Michelle Horgan	YES;
Anna Siedzik	YES;
Dana Allara	YES;
Julia Cambpell	YES;
Michelle Bailey	YES.

MOTION PASSES unanimously through roll call vote of seven (7) members present.

I MOVE THAT THE HAMILTON-WENHAM REGIONAL SCHOOL COMMITTEE ADJOURN EXECUTIVE SESSION AT 6:38 PM AND RECONVENE IN OPEN SESSION.

MOTION by Peter Wolczik; SECONDED by Dana Allara.

Peter WolczikYES;David PolitoYES;Michelle HorganYES;Anna SiedzikYES;Dana AllaraYES;Julia CambpellYES;Michelle BaileyYES.

MOTION PASSES unanimously through roll call vote of seven (7) members present.

Open session reconvenes at 6:40 PM.

Respectfully submitted January 16 2021 by Mahala Lettvin, Recording Secretary.